Major reshuffle among IPS officers on card in Odisha


By Anurjay Dhal

BHUBANEWAR: With Abhay taking over as DGP by December 4 or 5 from in charge Police Chief Satyajit Mohanty , speculations are rife about major reshuffle among senior IPS and SP ranks IPS officers.

Sources said, Abhay, who hails from Champrana of Eastern Bihar , is presently Director at Hyderabad based Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel National Police Academy, is joining Odisha cadre by 1st week of December. The 1986 batch Odisha cadre IPS officer was to continue for a combined tenure up to his superannuation on June 30, 2021 but Odisha Government called him following allegations against ousted DGP Bijay Kumar Sharma.

Sources said, sitting Police Commissioner for Cuttack-Bhubaneswar Sudhanshu Sarangi may be axed considering his close proximity with ousted DGP Bijay Kumar Sharma while sources revealed that IGP(Central Range), S Priyadarshi may replace Sudhansu Sarangi as new Police Commissioner.

It may be noted here that, soon after taking over as DGP, Bijay Sharma had axed the present in charge Police chief Satyajit Mohanty as Police Commissioner and in Mohanty’s place, Sharma had preferred Sarangi.

Priyadarshi apart from close to Abhay , also known as ‘Crisis Manager’ of Odisha Police administration. Reshuffle expected for the posts of IGP (Law and Order), IGP (Operations), IGP (Provisioning), and IGP (Administrations). Besides, Range DIGs, IGPs and several SPs will also be transferred, sources said.

Besides, Priyadarshi, senior IPS officers like Sunil Roy, Arun Sarangi, RP Koche, Amitabh Thakur, Sidhartha Narvane, Sanjib Panda, Lalit Das, Awinash Kumar, Ravi Kant, Asish Singh and few others  many may get lucrative postings under new DGP Abhay. Bihar origin IPS officers may also get heavy posts as new DGP hails from Bihar.  

Sources also revealed that those who were close to Bijay Sharma will face the music with Odisha Government looking deep into the allegations against the 1986 batch IPS officer, hailing from Baripada of State’s tribal dominated Mayurbhanj district.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here