Sarala Award 2018 goes to Padmasri Pratibha Ray


By Our Correspondent

CUTTACK/BHUBANESWAR: Sarala Award-2018 went to Padmasri Pratibha Ray on Monday Sarala Sahitya Sansad founder Prabhakar Swain announcing this in Cuttack. Last year, she was appointed as the chairperson of Jnanpith Selection Board.

Jnanpith Award winner Padmasri Ray has been nominated to get Sarala Award 2018 for her immense contribution to Odia literature.The veteran novelist will receive the coveted award from Andhra Pradesh Governor Biswabhushan Harichandan at a special function scheduled to be held on December 8, 2019.

Pratibha Ray will be felicitated with cash award of Rs 1.05 lakh along with a citation, informed Swain.Ray is the first woman writer to receive the coveted National Moortidevi Award by Bharatiya Jnanpith for the year 1991 for her widely acclaimed novel ‘Yajnaseni’. She was conferred with the Jnanpith Award, country’s highest award for literature, for 2011.

She has achieved the rare feat in literature for novels including ‘Barsa Basanta Baishakha’, ‘Aranya’, ‘Nishidha Prithivi’, ‘Parichaya, ‘Aparichita, ‘Punyatoya’, ‘Meghamedura’, ‘Ashabari’, ‘Ayamarambha’, ‘Nilatrishna’, ‘Samudrara Swara’, ‘Shilapadma’, ‘Dehatit’ and ‘Uttarmarg’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here