Jhilli Dalabehera wins IMFA Group sponsored Ekalabya Award-2019


By Our Correspondent

BHUBANESWAR: International weightlifter Ms. Jhilli Dalabehera has bagged the prestigious 27thEkalabya Award for the year 2019. The Ekalabya Award Committee comprising of jury members drawnfrom different walks of life were unanimous in selecting Ms. Dalabehera for the prestigious award in a meeting held here on Sunday.

Jhilli Dalabehera, with 2 Gold, 3 Silver and 1 bronze medals in international weightlifting events

between 01st April 2017 to 31st March 2019 emerged as the clear winner this year. She will get a cash award of Rs.5 lakh along with a citation at the Ekalabya Award function. Besides Ms. Dalabehera, two other sportspersons will also be felicitated for their remarkable performances in various International & National level in their respective fields. They are; women Football player  Jabamani Tudu and the famous Hockey talent Namita Toppo. Both will receive a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/- each along with citations.

The date for Ekalabya Award function will be announced later.Announcing the names of the award winners, Baijayant Panda , Former MP (LS-RS) and Trustee of IMPaCT said “IMPaCT has been in continuous pursuit to recognize and foster excellence in sports and Literature besides contributing to the general welfare of the society at large.

Ekalabya award is instituted to encourage and inspire young sports persons to perform at national and international arena. Ekalabya Award, instituted by IMPaCT in the year 1993 has come a long way to be recognized as the most prestigious sports award of Odisha, drawing parallels with many national awards, Panda, who is also BJP’s National VP and Spokesperson said.

A mere look at the career graph of some of the past awardees confirms that over the years, it has been a moral booster for the best sporting talents in the State. The award is given every year to young sportspersons of Odisha in recognition of their outstanding performance in the preceding two years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here