12 Rivers in Odisha hit by pollution


By Our Correspondent

NEW DELHI/BHUBANESWAR: 12 Rivers in Odisha hit by pollution. These were Baitrani, Brahamani, Budhabalnaga, Daya, Kathajodi, Koel, Kuakhai, Mahanadi Nagavalli, Rushikulya, Serua, Vansadhara. This information was given by the Minister of State (Independent Charge) of Environment, Forest and Climate Change,  Anil Madhav Dave, in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha on Monday.

As per the report published by Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) in February 2015, 302 polluted river stretches have been identified on 275 rivers in the Country including 12 in Odisha, based on Bio-chemical Oxygen Demand (BOD) levels, a key indicator of organic pollution.

Pollution abatement of rivers is a continuous and ongoing process. It is the responsibility of the State Governments/ concerned local bodies to set up proper facilities for collection, transportation and treatment of sewage being generated and ensure that untreated sewage does not fall into the rivers thereby polluting them.

The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, has been supplementing the efforts of the State Governments in abatement of pollution in identified stretches of various rivers under National River Conservation Plan (NRCP) and NGRBA (National Ganga River Basin Authority) programmes.

The NGRBA programme along with work of Ganga & its tributaries is with Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation (MoWR,RD&GR) from 01/08/2014 onwards.

The programmes of NRCP & NGRBA (till 31/07/2014) have  covered polluted stretches of 43 rivers in 200 towns spread over 21 States at a sanctioned cost of Rs. 12202.59 crore so far. Sewage treatment capacity of 5169 million litres per day (mld) has been created so far under these two programmes.

State Governments, apart from their own budgetary allocation, are also accessing financial assistance for creation of sewerage infrastructure, including sewage treatment plants, in various cities/towns under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) programme of Ministry of Urban Development and the Namami Gange programme (under NGRBA) of MoWR,RD&GR.

Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB)  has  issued directions under Section 18 1(b) of the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974 in April, 2015 to the State Pollution Control Board/Pollution Control Committees regarding setting up of sewage treatment plants and utilization of sewage generated in their respective States.  CPCB has also issued directions in October, 2015 to 69 municipal authorities of metropolitan cities and State capitals under Section 5 of Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 for proper treatment and disposal of sewage generated to control pollution in rivers and other water bodies.

To control discharge of industrial effluents, CPCB and respective State Pollution Control Boards/Pollution Control Committees monitor industries with respect to effluents discharge standards and take action for non-compliance under the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974 and the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986.

To improve the monitoring of compliance, directions have been issued to specific industries to install online 24×7 effluent and emission monitoring devices.    Steps have also been taken by CPCB to promote low waste and no waste concept, leading to Zero Liquid Discharge by grossly water polluting industries, particularly those located on the river banks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here